We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Lib Dems announce team in the House of Lords

June 2, 2015 9:27 PM
Originally published by East Midlands Liberal Democrats

Since the general election, the Liberal Democrat team in the House of Lords has become rather more important. Not only are the Lib Dem peers the dominant part of the Liberal Democrat Parliamentary Parties, but with a Tory majority in the Commons yet a minority in the Lords, the house with the peers is the one where opposition parties will have the most power when it comes to votes during this Parliament.

The team of Liberal Democrat spokespeople has now been finalised (and note that of the principal spokespeople, 43% are female - rather better than the party has done in the Commons in the past or will do for quite some time to come). The most unlikely title is Principal Spokesperson for the Northern Powerhouse which, alas, is not a weight building club in Doncaster.

Here is the full list from the Lib Dem peers blog:

Business, Innovation and Skills Team

Lord Stoneham of Droxford - Principal Spokesperson

Baroness Garden of Frognal - Spokesperson for Higher and Further Education and Skills

Lord Clement-Jones (jointly with DCMS Team)

Lord Palmer of Childs Hill

Civil Service and the Public Sector

Lord Razzall - Principal Spokesperson for Civil Service and Public Sector Reform

Communities and Local Government Team

Lord Shipley - Principal Spokesperson for Communities, Decentralisation and the Northern Powerhouse

Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville - Spokesperson for Housing

Baroness Janke (jointly with Treasury Team)

Constitutional and Political Reform

Lord Tyler - Principal Spokesperson for Constitutional and Political Reform

Culture, Media, Sport and Tourism Team

Baroness Bonham-Carter - Principal Spokesperson for Media and the Creative Industries

Baroness Doocey - Principal Spokesperson for Sport, Tourism and Cultural Participation

Lord Clement-Jones (jointly with BIS Team)


Baroness Jolly - Principal Spokesperson

Baroness Smith of Newnham

Energy and Climate Change Team

Lord Purvis of Tweed - Principal Spokesperson

Baroness Maddock

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Team

Baroness Parminter - Principal Spokesperson

Education Team

Lord Storey - Principal Spokesperson

Lord Addington - Spokesperson for Special Educational Needs

Baroness Pinnock - Spokesperson for Children


Baroness Hussein-Ece - Principal Spokesperson

Foreign Office Team

Lord Wallace of Saltaire - Principal Spokesperson

Baroness Falkner of Margravine

Baroness Ludford - Spokesperson for Europe

Health Team

Baroness Walmsley - Principal Spokesperson

Baroness Tyler of Enfield - Spokesperson for Mental Health

Home Affairs Team

Lord Paddick - Principal Spokesperson

Baroness Hamwee - Parliamentary Spokesperson

International Development

Baroness Northover - Principal Spokesperson

Lord Chidgey

Zahida Manzoor

Justice Team

Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames - Principal Spokesperson

Lord Lester of Herne Hill - Human Rights Legislation

Law Officers

Lord Thomas of Gresford - Shadow Attorney General

Northern Ireland Team

Lord Alderdice - Principal Spokesperson

Scotland Team

Lord Stephen - Principal Spokesperson

Transport Team

Lord Teverson - Principal Spokesperson

Lord Bradshaw - Parliamentary Spokesperson and Industry Contact

Treasury Team

Baroness Kramer - Principal Spokesperson

Lord Sharkey - Spokesperson for Personal Finances

Baroness Janke (jointly with DCLG Team)

Voluntary Sector

Baroness Barker - Principal Spokesperson for the Voluntary Sector and Social Enterprise

Wales Team

Baroness Randerson - Principal Spokesperson

Work and Pensions Team

Lord German - Principal Spokesperson

Lord Kirkwood - Spokesperson for Welfare

Baroness Thomas of Winchester - Spokesperson for Disability